First American Financial Corp (FAF) financial statements: income statement, balance sheet and cash flow

First American Financial Corp's income statement, balance sheet and cash flow statement as filed with the SEC (10-K and 10-Q), with the latest fiscal years and quarters. In its latest fiscal year (Dec 31, 2025 · FY), First American Financial Corp reported revenue of $7.5B (+21.6% year on year) and net income of $625.2M (+371.5% year on year).

Income statement

First American Financial Corp income statement, fiscal years
Line itemDec 31, 2025 · FYDec 31, 2024 · FYDec 31, 2023 · FYDec 31, 2022 · FY
Direct premiums and escrow fees$2.8B$2.4B$2.3B$3.1B
Agent premiums$3.0B$2.6B$2.4B$3.5B
Information and other$1.1B$960.8M$938.5M$1.1B
Net investment income$621.0M$561.0M$570.0M$340.0M
Net investment gains (losses) (realized of $(11.4), $(335.1), $(80.9))$20.9M($401.6M)($206.4M)—
Total revenues$7.5B$6.1B$6.0B$7.6B
Personnel costs$2.3B$2.1B$2.0B$2.3B
Premiums retained by agents$2.4B$2.0B$2.0B$2.8B
Other operating expenses$1.2B$1.1B$1.1B$1.3B
Provision for policy losses and other claims$326.6M$320.0M$336.3M$486.0M
Depreciation and amortization$216.2M$207.4M$188.5M$167.0M
Premium taxes$81.6M$68.3M$63.5M$91.0M
Interest$157.0M$149.6M$132.5M$93.0M
Total expenses$6.6B$6.0B$5.7B$7.3B
Income before income taxes$826.2M$165.4M$274.4M$326.0M
Income taxes$201.0M$32.8M$58.9M$61.0M
Net income$625.2M$132.6M$215.5M$265.0M
Less: Net income (loss) attributable to noncontrolling interests$3.4M$1.5M($1.3M)$2.0M
Net income attributable to the Company$621.8M$131.1M$216.8M$263.0M
Basic$6.02$1.26$2.08$2.46
Diluted$6.00$1.26$2.07$2.45
Cash dividends per share$2.18$2.14$2.10$2.06
Basic103.3M103.9M104.3M107.0M
Diluted103.7M104.3M104.6M107.3M
First American Financial Corp income statement, quarters
Line itemSep 30, 2026 · Q3Jun 30, 2026 · Q2Mar 31, 2026 · Q1Sep 30, 2025 · Q3
Direct premiums and escrow fees$749.8M$794.1M$660.2M$708.0M
Agent premiums$868.4M$819.7M$759.4M$798.8M
Information and other$297.9M$307.8M$275.1M$282.0M
Net investment income$170.1M$183.7M$152.4M$163.8M
Net investment gains (losses) (realized losses of $(1.4), $(2.0), $(4.2), $(8.9))($1.6M)$12.0M($9.1M)$26.3M
Total revenues$2.1B$2.1B$1.8B$2.0B
Personnel costs$597.4M$614.3M$568.2M$574.9M
Premiums retained by agents$695.6M$658.6M$602.2M$640.1M
Other operating expenses$343.6M$352.1M$310.4M$309.2M
Provision for policy losses and other claims$95.1M$87.3M$77.8M$90.8M
Depreciation and amortization$54.7M$53.6M$54.6M$54.8M
Premium taxes$24.2M$21.8M$21.1M$22.2M
Interest$46.4M$45.7M$41.9M$39.9M
Total expenses$1.9B$1.8B$1.7B$1.7B
Income before income taxes$227.6M$283.9M$161.8M$247.0M
Income taxes$51.0M$64.8M$37.0M$57.1M
Net income$176.6M$219.1M$124.8M$189.9M
Less: Net income (loss) attributable to noncontrolling($400.0K)$600.0K($300.0K)$300.0K
Net income attributable to the Company$177.0M$218.5M$125.1M$189.6M
Basic$1.72$2.13$1.21$1.84
Diluted$1.72$2.12$1.21$1.84
Cash dividends per share$0.61$0.55$0.55$0.55
Basic102.7M102.6M103.0M102.8M
Diluted103.2M103.0M103.3M103.1M

Balance sheet

First American Financial Corp balance sheet, fiscal years
Line itemDec 31, 2025 · FYDec 31, 2024 · FYDec 31, 2023 · FYDec 31, 2022 · FY
Cash and cash equivalents$1.4B$1.7B$3.6B$1.2B
Accounts and accrued income receivable, less allowances for credit losses of $23.9 and $21.5$432.6M$374.8M$509.4M$367.0M
Income taxes receivable$65.0M$61.3M$75.7M$22.0M
Deposits with banks$78.5M$85.4M$55.8M$63.0M
Debt securities (amortized cost of $8,656.7 and $7,730.9; pledged of $170.3 and $92.4)$8.5B$7.3B$7.2B$8.2B
Equity securities$849.1M$691.3M$735.6M$754.0M
Investments, Total$9.4B$8.0B$7.9B$9.0B
Secured financings receivable$986.1M$690.0M$636.5M$423.0M
Property and equipment, net$682.3M$745.1M$749.6M$637.0M
Operating lease assets$205.7M$214.7M$229.3M$248.0M
Title plants and other indexes$686.7M$673.9M$652.4M$640.0M
Deferred income taxes$9.4M$43.8M$50.1M$54.0M
Goodwill$1.8B$1.8B$1.8B$1.8B
Other intangible assets, net$100.0M$125.2M$153.8M$194.0M
Other assets$460.1M$414.8M$384.3M$361.0M
Total assets$16.2B$14.9B$16.8B$15.0B
Deposits$5.3B$5.0B$7.3B$5.5B
Accounts payable$47.7M$66.7M$63.3M$51.0M
Personnel costs$317.6M$278.1M$256.6M$299.0M
Pension costs and other retirement plans$444.5M$425.2M$399.2M$381.0M
Other$192.9M$173.3M$160.4M$184.0M
Accounts payable and accrued liabilities$1.0B$943.3M$879.5M$915.0M
Deferred revenue$214.0M$210.4M$196.8M$197.0M
Reserve for known and incurred but not reported claims$1.2B$1.2B$1.3B$1.3B
Income taxes payable$42.7M$27.0M$15.9M$10.0M
Deferred income taxes$312.7M$139.1M$63.6M$19.0M
Operating lease liabilities$218.2M$229.9M$246.6M$269.0M
Secured financings payable$906.5M$643.8M$553.3M$366.0M
Notes and contracts payable$1.5B$1.5B$1.4B$1.6B
Total liabilities$10.7B$10.0B$11.9B$10.3B
Preferred stock, $0.00001 par value; Authorized—0.5 shares; Outstanding—none0000
Common stock, $0.00001 par value; Authorized-300.0 shares; Outstanding-102.0 shares and 103.0 shares0000
Additional paid-in capital$1.7B$1.8B$1.8B$1.8B
Retained earnings$4.0B$3.6B$3.7B$3.7B
Accumulated other comprehensive loss($256.7M)($496.4M)($655.8M)($868.0M)
Total stockholders’ equity$5.5B$4.9B$4.8B$4.7B
Noncontrolling interests$24.8M$18.5M$14.7M$23.0M
Total equity$5.5B$4.9B$4.9B$4.7B
Total liabilities and equity$16.2B$14.9B$16.8B$15.0B
First American Financial Corp balance sheet, quarters
Line itemSep 30, 2026Jun 30, 2026Mar 31, 2026Sep 30, 2025
Cash and cash equivalents$1.7B$2.6B$2.4B$2.9B
Accounts and accrued income receivable, less allowance for credit losses of $23.6 and $23.9$456.1M$447.9M$398.0M$446.7M
Income taxes receivable$175.8M$35.4M$54.4M$20.3M
Deposits with banks$106.8M$103.3M$81.9M$80.0M
Debt securities (amortized cost of $10,535.2 and $8,656.7; pledged of $154.8 and $170.3)$9.8B$9.8B$9.0B$8.2B
Equity securities$868.1M$855.7M$870.2M$742.4M
Investments, Total$10.7B$10.7B$9.9B$9.1B
Secured financings receivable$930.3M$1.2B$1.2B$1.2B
Property and equipment, net$655.6M$662.6M$671.9M$693.4M
Operating lease assets$184.5M$195.2M$195.0M$208.9M
Title plants and other indexes$694.2M$690.2M$687.4M$684.3M
Deferred income taxes$9.4M$9.4M$9.4M$43.8M
Goodwill$1.8B$1.8B$1.8B$1.8B
Other intangible assets, net$77.3M$85.4M$95.0M$106.4M
Other assets$512.7M$485.9M$448.2M$434.6M
Total assets$18.0B$18.9B$17.9B$17.6B
Deposits$7.3B$7.9B$7.1B$6.8B
Accounts payable and accrued liabilities$1.0B$902.1M$792.6M$946.8M
Deferred revenue$226.7M$208.3M$199.3M$221.7M
Reserve for known and incurred but not reported claims$1.1B$1.2B$1.2B$1.2B
Income taxes payable$39.3M$55.4M$41.0M$134.7M
Deferred income taxes$312.7M$312.7M$312.7M$139.1M
Operating lease liabilities$198.2M$206.2M$206.7M$221.4M
Secured financings payable$807.5M$1.0B$1.1B$1.1B
Notes and contracts payable$1.5B$1.5B$1.5B$1.5B
Total liabilities$12.6B$13.3B$12.4B$12.3B
Preferred stock, $0.00001 par value; Authorized—0.5 shares; Outstanding—none0000
Common stock, $0.00001 par value; Authorized - 300.0 shares; Outstanding - 102.2 shares and 102.0 shares0000
Additional paid-in capital$1.7B$1.7B$1.7B$1.7B
Retained earnings$4.4B$4.2B$4.1B$3.9B
Accumulated other comprehensive loss($709.2M)($348.0M)($322.5M)($286.2M)
Total stockholders’ equity$5.4B$5.6B$5.5B$5.3B
Noncontrolling interests$21.3M$23.0M$22.6M$24.1M
Total equity$5.4B$5.6B$5.5B$5.3B
Total liabilities and equity$18.0B$18.9B$17.9B$17.6B

Cash flow statement

First American Financial Corp cash flow statement, fiscal years
Line itemDec 31, 2025 · FYDec 31, 2024 · FYDec 31, 2023 · FYDec 31, 2022 · FY
Net income$625.2M$132.6M$215.5M$265.0M
Provision for policy losses and other claims$326.6M$320.0M$336.3M$486.0M
Depreciation and amortization$216.2M$207.4M$188.5M$167.0M
Amortization of premiums and accretion of discounts on debt securities, net($45.2M)($3.0M)$8.6M$19.0M
Net investment losses($20.9M)$401.6M$206.4M—
Share-based compensation$68.4M$52.0M$49.1M$67.0M
Equity in earnings of affiliates, net($7.2M)($7.4M)($5.4M)($11.0M)
Dividends from equity method investments$9.9M$6.4M$6.5M$11.0M
Claims paid, including assets acquired, net of recoveries($358.4M)($397.8M)($381.8M)($434.0M)
Net change in income tax accounts$149.6M$35.2M($60.8M)($130.0M)
(Increase) decrease in accounts and accrued income receivable($57.4M)$126.2M($159.1M)$83.0M
Increase (decrease) in accounts payable and accrued liabilities$74.8M$45.9M($51.9M)($266.0M)
Increase (decrease) in deferred revenue$3.3M$13.7M($100.0K)($28.0M)
Other, net($34.1M)($35.3M)$2.5M$35.0M
Cash provided by operating activities$950.8M$897.5M$354.3M$780.0M
Acquisitions/dispositions, net of cash acquired/divested($2.5M)($16.4M)($24.7M)($278.0M)
Net decrease (increase) in deposits with banks$9.5M($35.0M)$7.9M($8.0M)
Purchases of debt securities($2.9B)($6.3B)($1.3B)($3.0B)
Proceeds from sales of debt securities$1.3B$5.5B$1.7B$1.8B
Proceeds from maturities of debt securities$688.4M$675.5M$812.3M$1.2B
Purchases of equity securities($115.2M)($44.7M)($170.7M)($157.0M)
Proceeds from sales of equity securities$50.8M$69.1M$71.0M$241.0M
Net change in other investments($11.3M)($7.6M)($11.6M)($7.0M)
Advances under secured financing agreements($45.3B)($29.2B)($13.3B)($15.7B)
Collections of secured financings receivable$45.0B$29.1B$13.1B$15.8B
Capital expenditures($188.3M)($218.3M)($263.4M)($260.0M)
Proceeds from sales of property and equipment$600.0K$600.0K$100.0K$7.0M
Proceeds from insurance settlement$2.8M$4.0M$2.2M$3.0M
Cash (used for) provided by investing activities($1.5B)($458.7M)$599.5M($395.0M)
Net change in deposits$244.6M($2.3B)$1.8B$451.0M
Borrowings under secured financing agreements$44.1B$28.4B$13.4B$15.5B
Repayments of secured financings payable($43.8B)($28.3B)($13.2B)($15.7B)
Net proceeds from issuance of unsecured senior notes$0$444.0M$0$0
Repayment of senior unsecured notes$0($300.0M)($250.0M)—
Repayments of other notes and contracts payable($3.7M)($4.2M)($6.2M)($7.0M)
Net activity related to noncontrolling interests($3.2M)$2.5M($7.1M)($2.0M)
Net proceeds in connection with share-based compensation7.0M6.9M400.0K2.0M
Repurchases of Company shares-122.3M-68.5M-72.7M-441.0M
Payments of cash dividends($223.0M)($220.7M)($216.6M)($217.0M)
Cash provided by (used for) financing activities$161.2M($2.3B)$1.4B($376.0M)
Effect of exchange rate changes on cash$13.1M($16.6M)$4.9M($13.0M)
Net (decrease) increase in cash and cash equivalents($330.8M)($1.9B)$2.4B($4.0M)
Cash and cash equivalents—Beginning of year$1.7B$3.6B$1.2B$1.2B
Cash and cash equivalents—End of year$1.4B$1.7B$3.6B$1.2B
Interest$151.9M$150.6M$124.2M$87.0M
First American Financial Corp cash flow statement, quarters
Line itemSep 30, 2026 · YTDJun 30, 2026 · YTDMar 31, 2026 · Q1Sep 30, 2025 · YTD
Net income$520.5M$343.9M$124.8M$411.8M
Provision for policy losses and other claims$260.2M$165.1M$77.8M$242.8M
Depreciation and amortization$162.9M$108.2M$54.6M$160.3M
Amortization of premiums and accretion of discounts on debt securities, net($45.5M)($27.1M)($12.8M)($34.0M)
Net investment gains($1.3M)($2.9M)$9.1M($5.8M)
Share-based compensation$51.7M$40.4M$27.1M$59.6M
Equity in earnings of affiliates, net($10.1M)($6.2M)($2.2M)($7.9M)
Dividends from equity method investments$10.7M$6.8M$1.3M$6.1M
Claims paid, including assets acquired, net of recoveries($287.1M)($180.3M)($77.7M)($261.4M)
Net change in income tax accounts$32.4M$67.8M$26.5M$85.7M
Increase in accounts and accrued income receivable($26.1M)($17.8M)$32.6M($71.9M)
Decrease in accounts payable and accrued liabilities($59.5M)($113.0M)($246.9M)($3.4M)
Increase in deferred revenue$12.7M($5.7M)($14.6M)$11.0M
Other, net($21.3M)($17.0M)$6.0M($11.4M)
Cash provided by operating activities$600.2M$362.2M$5.6M$581.5M
Acquisitions/dispositions, net of cash acquired/divested($200.0K)($200.0K)($200.0K)($2.4M)
Net (increase) decrease in deposits with banks($27.6M)($26.7M)($4.6M)$8.0M
Purchases of debt securities($3.2B)($2.3B)($987.0M)($1.9B)
Proceeds from sales of debt securities$782.8M$543.7M$267.3M$747.4M
Proceeds from maturities of debt securities$600.2M$377.8M$187.4M$486.5M
Purchases of equity securities($48.2M)($34.6M)($29.7M)($31.9M)
Proceeds from sales of equity securities$30.2M$29.2M$1.4M$46.6M
Advances on notes receivable($38.1M)———
Collections on notes receivable$4.4M———
Advances under secured financing agreements($40.8B)($29.6B)($15.6B)($30.1B)
Collections of secured financings receivable$40.9B$29.4B$15.3B$29.6B
Capital expenditures($118.9M)($77.5M)($38.3M)($143.5M)
Proceeds from sales of property and equipment$0$400.0K$0$600.0K
Proceeds from insurance settlement$0$0$0$1.9M
Cash used for investing activities($2.0B)($1.7B)($815.7M)($1.3B)
Net change in deposits$2.0B$2.6B$1.8B$1.8B
Borrowings under secured financing agreements$39.5B$28.6B$15.0B$29.3B
Repayments of secured financings payable($39.6B)($28.5B)($14.9B)($28.9B)
Repayments of other notes and contracts payable($2.8M)($1.1M)($600.0K)($2.9M)
Net activity related to noncontrolling interests($3.4M)($2.1M)($1.9M)($2.4M)
Net (payments) proceeds in connection with share-based compensation-2.3M-5.1M-6.6M2.9M
Repurchases of Company shares-55.5M-54.0M-33.5M-122.3M
Payments of cash dividends($112.3M)($112.3M)($56.2M)($167.0M)
Cash provided by financing activities$1.7B$2.5B$1.9B$1.9B
Effect of exchange rate changes on cash($2.6M)($4.4M)($3.7M)$10.6M
Net increase in cash and cash equivalents$343.8M$1.2B$1.0B$1.2B
Cash and cash equivalents—Beginning of period$1.4B$1.4B$1.4B$1.7B
Cash and cash equivalents—End of period$1.7B$2.6B$2.4B$2.9B
Interest$136.5M$84.6M$45.1M$114.7M
Premium taxes$77.5M$56.2M$32.2M$61.4M

First American Financial Corp score and earnings-call analysis · All covered companies

Figures as reported in SEC filings. General information, not investment advice.